top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Jennifer Hlad, 37


I am here today to tell the journey of someone who has become a very special influence on my life. My cousin Jen came into my life with a story to tell which leads us here. At a young age, she was dealing with very traumatic events in her life that she says could most definitely be the reason as to why she turned to drugs. From the ages 13 to 26, she had tried anything, starting with drinking alcohol and smoking weed then progressing to acid, ecstasy, taking mushrooms, and later using cocaine, meth, and heroin. She was doing all of this to escape her problems and as she described it she "felt nothing, felt no pain, no emotions...". After Jen's family and the authorities realized she was spiraling, they tried to send her to many recovery centers. She went to 2 treatment centers over 30 times for her family members and the judges she was faced with to try and overcome addiction but was still finding herself running back to her safe place. In the long run, Jen found hope after she was sent to prison and finally got on the right track which leads her here today, a strong and loving mother and a soon to be the most beautiful bride. She says that not all drug users have to go to prison, but that is the way she found her way out of the spiraling circle. Without these experiences who knows where Jen would be.

Jennifer is a strong and inspirational woman and I am proud to call her my cousin. The battle she and many others faced and are still facing today inspired me to help others. There are places to give hope and help for everyone out there. As you read this I ask you to be patient and love those around you who are struggling. A big thank you to my cousin for letting me use her journey to inspire others and Lex Moats Photography for the amazing visuals.

bottom of page